Frequently asked questions
Click a question below to show its answer
You may have forgotten to log out. Simply close and re-open your browser.
Don't worry. Both websites are operated by us, and are completely safe.
You need an internet connection and your browser should not be blocking web cookies while you use the service.
The course was not made with mobile devices in mind. Some parts may not work. We recommend you use a computer instead.
Budget Driving School of Imperial County issues all certificates, regardless of where you are located in California. They are sent via First Class U.S. Mail (3-5 postal days generally).
There is no age requirement for the diver's education. However, you cannot take the DMV permit test until you are at least 15 and 1/2 years old.
You may apply for a learner's permit at the age of 17 and 1/2 without driver's education, but you will not be issued a license until you either take a driver education course or turn 18 years of age.
You must maintain your learner's permit for a minimum of 6 months or until you turn 18.
You must drive with a licensed California driver 25 years of age or older. You must have your parents' permission to apply for a permit. Any alcohol in your system will result in permit suspension. Possession of weapons, dropping out of school, or being convicted of vandalism or graffiti will result in a license suspension.
No, if your parents sign your application form you may apply without them having to be there.
A 46 question written test (you may miss no more than 8), plus two vision tests.
You may apply for a learner's permit at any DMV in the State of California.
46. You cannot miss more than 8. If you do, you must wait one week before taking another test.
The official California Driver Handbook, along with the study material provided to you by our driving school.
One year from the date it was issued.
Only if you are driving.
No, you are entitled to three attempts, but you will be required to wait one week between each try.
As of 2005, you may obtain a copy from the DMV at no extra charge.
Your parents or whoever gave you the 50 hours of practice time; not the driving instructor who gave you 6 hours of required training.
No, but you will be required to submit a new application, pay the $33 fee, and retake the written and eye tests.
Before driving, you must first take one behind-the-wheel lesson with a professional driving instructor. There, they will sign and validate your permit.
You may drive with anyone who is 25 years of age or older, with a valid California license only with your parents' permission.
Each state and country has their own laws about this. Check before driving with a permit.
Yes, as long as you have someone with you who is 25 years of age or older with a valid California driver's license.
You may drive anytime day or night as long as you have a licensed driver 25 years of age or older with you.
The licensed driver must be in the front seat of the vehicle, sober and awake, and able to control the car in an emergency.
It is illegal to ride a motorcycle even in a parking lot without a motorcycle learner’s permit or license. If you do, you may be cited and have your motorcycle impounded (private property does not apply).
No. All of the first 6 hours of driving lessons must be provided by a licensed driving instructor in a dual controlled training vehicle.
You. The driver of any vehicle is always responsible for anything that happens.
Maybe, but only up to 26,000 gross vehicle weight. Not for hire, and no air brakes.
Maybe. First, you must have your parent’s permission to drive the vehicle. Second, the vehicle must be currently insured, under 26,000 pounds, and not have air brakes.